Before I go ranting and raving about the injustice of it all, I want to check with you all to see if this sounds wrong to anyone besides me.
My son is 20 years old and has a Wisconsin drivers license. He used to live in Wisconsin, but recently moved back to Virgina. He moved here January of this year. Anyway, my husband and I have a car that hasn’t been running and we haven’t needed it so we have not bothered to get it fixed. Now that our son is home he needs the car, so this morning we got it fixed and our son was driving it to get it inspected.
About 2 blocks from the house he gets pulled over for the inspection not being current. That is fine, but the cop also gave him a ticket for not having a license. Our son went to get his license out of his wallet and realized it wasn’t there, so he told the police officer, he would bring proof to him later. In Virginia a person has 24 hours to produce proof that one is in fact a licensed driver. The police officer said that since, he, the cop could not prove that there was reason to believe our son had a valid license in Wisconsin, that he was giving him a ticket for operating a vehicle without any license at all.
The police officer was on a motorcycle, so he called into dispatch to have them check to see if Wisconsin had a record of his license, but the dispatcher said she/he didn’t have access to find that out.
So, the police officer told our son that it is true a person has 24 hours to produce their licenses, but that if there is no way to tell that one has a license that he can cite the driver and in addition, he told my son he can’t drive until the March 2nd court date. That does not sound right to me. My son has the license, but it is in his wife’s purse. When she gets home I am going to drive him to the police department to show proof within 24 hours, but I had to go pick him up. If he is a legal driver with a valid license and is in a state where the law allows 24 hours to produce said licenses and it has not yet been 24 hours, can the police really tell him, he is not allowed to drive until March 2nd?
Just seems wrong. Can any of my Virginia friends(or anyone else) shed some light for me?